SCGSAH celebrates the commencement of the Class of 2022

Christina Vandiver

The South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities is proud to present the following 97 students of the Class of 2022 who graduated on Friday, May 27 at Furman University’s McAlister Auditorium.

Aiken County
Alex Hanna

Anderson County
Jonathan Helvy
Isabella Manuel
Sara Orr
Elana Purvis
Reed Shumpert
Emma Jane Zaher
Bamberg County
Marquez Turner

Beaufort County
Katie Davis
Scarlett Mercier
Mabel Safe
Jamari Young

Berkeley County
Grey Brunell
Serena Fullerton Nicholson
Andrew Sinclair
Eli Stacey
Sophie Sweeney
Maddie Whitley

Charleston County
Jude MejÍa-Vázquez
Presley  Mettler
Keah Rodwell
Néoma Sanchez
Bailey Tittle

Chesterfield County
Nathan Bridges

Darlington County
Alden Rondeau
Dillon County
Sam Hall
Dorchester County
Cody Baker
Ava Kabealo
Bentley Kemble
Anne-Marie Mahaffey
Caolin Witherspoon

Fairfield County
Elena Frick

Florence County 
Tripp Taylor

Greenville County
Pace Aho
Ellison Allen
Eve Begelman
Fernando Delgado
Gillian Drake
Daniela Garcia
Ella Ivester
Aleta Larkin
Naima Nodurft
Anna Ohi
Kimmie Rauscher
Pablo Sanchez
Grace Warren-Page

Horry County
Christian Moody
Em Moore
Gabe Wilson

Lancaster County
Ruby Clack
Kennedi Siles
Sofia Spinelli
Lex Zarama Rivas

Lee County
Emily Thomas

Lexington County
Wesley Bush
Cassie Drew
Elliot Harris
Addie Hendrix
James Rabon

Oconee County
Ella Hennessee
Tara McDonald
Madeline McGuff
Charlie VanAtter
Dawson Williams

Orangeburg County
Andrew Williams

Pickens County
Hanna Manning

Richland County
Jaysolin Bolton
Katie Brown
Marissa Derrick
Isaiah Gray
Daylon Hall
John Hicks
Isaac Hill
Yoshene Ma
Emma McArtor
Jackson Morton
Adam Mosley
Maya Schlueter
Aidan Simmons
Dale Watson

Spartanburg County
Edward Cox
MezzMyrh O'Neal
Emmet Overcarsh
Robert Owens
Abigail Turner
Kassidy Young

Sumter County
Nona Ghimpau
York County
Alex Aradas
Ray Cobb
Youjaye Daniels
Zander Dillard
Ellie Dobleske
Riley Hale
Wyatt Johnston
Watson Watson

Collectively, the Class of 2022 has received millions of dollars in scholarship offers from prestigious colleges, universities and conservatories across the nation, and have been recognized regionally and nationally for their achievements in the arts and academics.

The honors of this highly celebrated class include the following:

  • 42 seniors were inducted into the National Honor Society and 15 were named Academic Achievement Award Scholars 
  • 21 seniors received awards in Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Region-at-Large competition, and 2 seniors received medals in the national competition, including an American Visions Award
  • 8 seniors were honored in the Music Teachers National Association Senior Performance Competition, including 1 state winner, 3 alternate winners, and 4 honorable mentions
  • 8 seniors were inducted into the National Honor Society for Dance Arts
  • 3 seniors were selected as YoungArts finalists, and 2 of them were named U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts Semifinalists
  • 2 seniors were selected to be Piccolo Spoleto Rising Stars
  • 2 seniors were NATS Regional Finalists
  • 1 senior was named the first-ever Rock Hill Youth Poet Laureate

The Governor’s School’s residential high school program provides pre-professional training in the arts as well as a nationally recognized academic education. Artistically talented students from across the state are selected through an application and audition process and attend during their sophomore, junior and senior years depending on their selected art area. Upon successful completion, graduates receive a South Carolina high school diploma and a Scholar Diploma.  As a public school, tuition is free. Students only pay for meal plan and housing costs. Financial assistance is available through the Governor’s School Foundation. Applications for the 2023-2024 school year will open in the fall at