SCGSAH celebrates 20th graduating class

Christina Vandiver

The South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities is proud to present the following 92 graduates of the Class of 2020

Class of 2020

Abbeville County 
     Joseph Thomas Scott 

Aiken County
    Isabella Grace Bernard
    Allison Makenzie Sudlow

Anderson County
    Violet Nicole Cromer    
    Kathryn Grace Young
    Bamberg County
    Hunter Gage Sweatt

Beaufort County
    Walter Steven Dagley
    Matthew John Davey
    Patricia Irene Davis
    Jenna Alexandra Dean
   Claire Faith Stephens
   Wylder Conrad Voegele
   Caroline Rebecca Walker
   Delaney Suzanne Yurco

Berkeley County
    Elizabeth Kate Hamilton
    Koral Annette Runge
    Luke Sandifer Taylor
    Charleston County
    Abril Castillo Acosta
    Elizabeth Clare Black
    Isabella Luna Fulk
    Ava Frances Grebe
    Kindred Grace Moore 

Charleston County
    Abril Castillo Acosta
    Elizabeth Clare Black
    Isabella Luna Fulk
    Ava Frances Grebe
    Kindred Grace Moore
    Victor Sergei Sherman
    Lucinda Norma Siegler
    Skye Noelle Weimann

Cherokee County
   Maria Elizabeth Cooper

Dorchester County
    Jay Martin
    Pierceton Michael Mazell
    Thomas Joseph O’Malley
    Hannah Lauren Poe
    John Christopher Wright

Florence County
    Kayla Michelle Moses
    Blaise Hannah Nettles
    James Wei-Yuan Wong

Georgetown County
    Magdalyn Jane Darden
    Kayleigh Elexis Zurcher

Greenville County
     Darrell Isaiah Adams
     Tymetrias Lenora Bolden
     Xia Shari Bowens 
    Christina Chanell Brown
    Sarah Elisa Delanuéz 
    Emma Joan Devine 
    Macy Claire Dunn
    Nikola Eleni Heers
    Julia Pedroso Jacobsen 
    Effie Capri Ludke 
    Olivia Diane Mozie 
    John Marshall Peace 
    Lila Katherine Smith 
    Magaly Mayte Taipe
    Mae Evelene Tromsness
    Brendan Bailey Yarem
    Hope RuthAnne Zinkann

Greenwood County
    Christian Ahmad Brown

Horry County
    Bryan William Fields

Jasper County
    Chad Leo Moss

Kershaw County
    Makinna Ann Elkins

Lancaster County
    Gregory Julian Essex
    José Clemente Licón López
    Emma Ross Isabella Norrell

Lexington County
    Jonathan Lewis Gragg
    Kathryne Shinako Matsui
    Hailey Pfeiffer
    Isabelle Sierra Snelling
    Gavin Sean Wheeler

Marion County
    Frederick Lamonte Gause

Newberry County
    Gracen Layne Cromer

Oconee County
    Audrey Meara Hunt

Orangeburg County
    Zechariah Ray Aiken
    Amos Clinton Wise

Pickens County
    Amelia Caroline Bailey
    Jacklyn Elizabeth Jeffries
    Jessica Grace Schaefer
    Hannah Paloma Suarez

Richland County
    Gabrielle Giovanna Gardner
    Raekwon Tyreke Scott
    Martha Hart Shaffer

Spartanburg County
    Lovett Michael Brooks
    Benay Jillian Daniel
    Connor Ryan Gregory
    Preston Joon-Hyun Lee
    Phillip Adam Meyer
    Stephanie Cierra Chante Miller
    Honoka Segi
    Sydney Paige Stevens
    Beatrice Swartzel-Jones

Sumter County
    Matthew Logan Martin
    Xavier McKinley

Williamsburg County
    Vaughn Elijah Nesmith

“We could not be more proud of our 20th graduating class,” said Cedric Adderley, Governor’s School president. “They have had an extraordinary year; despite the challenges and uncertainty they have faced during this pandemic. 

“As Governor’s School students, each of these graduates has had the unique experience of completing intensive, pre-professional arts training while fulfilling rigorous academic requirements. Their dedication to academic and artistic excellence has been recognized regionally and nationally.”

Among these graduates, approximately one-third are in the National Honor Society and were named Academic Achievement Award Scholars. Eight seniors collectively received eight gold medals and five silver medals, and one was named an American Visions Medalist, in the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards national competition. One senior was selected as a YoungArts finalist and another was named the State Winner in the Music Teachers National Association Competition. Five dance seniors were named Youth American Grand Prix Semi-finalists. Collectively, they have received millions of dollars in scholarship offers from prestigious colleges, universities and conservatories across the nation.

“The Class of 2020's determination to succeed, commitment to artistic growth, and love for humanity will take them far in life. We look forward to following these young artists and scholars as they continue their pursuits,” said Adderley.

Out of an abundance of caution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the Governor’s School held a pre-recorded virtual commencement ceremony on May 22 featuring each graduate, student performances and surprise guest speaker Danielle Brooks, star of the Netflix series “Orange is the New Black” and 2007 graduate of the school’s drama program.